Observation and seeing

DSC_8173 copy (1)

I’ve started reading Sparks of Genius; the 13 Thinking Tools of the World’s Most Creative People by Robert and Michele Root-Bernstein this week.  In the chapter on Observation, I was reminded that the patience to look and look again is a trait characteristic of all great artists.  I was so happy to read this since I take such pleasure in the simple act of looking, examining, smelling, tasting, feeling, listening… using all my senses to frame a photograph or learn about our natural world.  I imagine that those who share this pleasure need to indulge in this way of observation.   And I find I create my best photographs when I’m using all these senses while simultaneously visualizing personal meaning.  These berries of Viburnum nudum ‘Winterthur’ ( locally known as possumhaw) visually demonstrate to me the complexity of seasonal changes and maturation.

One thought on “Observation and seeing

Leave a Reply

