Noise

While I was out photographing for an on-line class I’m taking with William Neill, I visited nearby Smedly Park.  Now Smedly Park is not your typical park… it’s more like a forgotten area of the Crum Woods that dog walkers frequent and little care is given to its maintenance.  My kind of place to find wonderful aged and weathered trees!  But the parking lot sits directly underneath I-476 in Delaware County.  And the noise can be overwhelming.  When I first parked, I couldn’t get far enough away from the noise.  But upon my return to my car just after sunset, I noticed a crack of light coming between the northbound and southbound lanes.  And then I forgot about the noise as I composed this image of the underbelly of I-476, 50 feet or so above me.  I know it’s not my typical beauty of nature kind of image.  But the composition and way the light between the lanes happened only when I was dead center below was kind of cool.

Leave a Reply

