Fleeting moments

In honor of the beautiful magnolias that were frosted two nights ago, I decided to post this first image of Magnolia ‘Candy Cane’, one of my favorites at the Scott Arboretum.

Spring has been incredibly fast this year and even with the fleeting nature of these moments I’m amazed at how many people don’t notice the details of the magic that is unfolding before them.  And unless I have my camera set up in front of an obvious subject, they walk right past me often gazing in bewilderment at what I could possibly be photographing.  I just don’t understand the lack of interest and knowledge in the natural environment that’s happening all across the western world.  But after watching Jamie Oliver on ABC Friday night trying to reform a school lunch program here in the US, I shouldn’t be so surprised.  During part of the episode, he was quizzing young children on the names of vegetables; NONE of the children recognized ANY of the vegetables and they didn’t even know that french fries were made from potatoes!  From my own experience, most clerks in grocery stores don’t even know how to ring up produce by name. I cannot tell you how many times I’ve had to tell them what something is and how to prepare it!.  And I’m almost always helping people identify ornamental plants wherever I am.  So if people don’t care about how we sustain ourselves as part of life on this planet in regards to food, how can people possibly be interested in the bigger picture?

Back to more photos… they calm my spirit and keep me hopeful that somehow we will reconnect.  We have to.

Trillium erectum our native wake-robin

yellow crocus in a field of Scilla siberica

Aralia spinosa emerging from a snowy winter

red maple flowers

4 thoughts on “Fleeting moments

  1. aaaaaaaaaahhhhhhh! Finally, spring! As always, Rhoda, your photos capture what your eye sees, and you show us what to see. aaaaaaaaahhhhh … poetry!

  2. Rhoda,
    Your vision enables us to notice these details, which we would not have admired before. Your early spring photos are wonderful! Thank you for opening my eyes.

Leave a Reply

