the soul can not think without a picture

Cercis canadensis ‘Tennessee Pink’ –

I found a great quote by Aristotle this week, “The soul can not think without a picture.”  And it made me wonder how much of my own soul is revealed through my photography.  I hope part of the reason for my photography is to share a piece of  humanity and connect with others on a deeper level than just isn’t this pretty.  I have yet to figure out the true purpose of my work and in time and at the right time I believe it will be revealed to me.  But for now, the process of photography is personal, a sort of meditation, a sort of spiritual connection with the larger forces at work in our world.  I just hope I am effectively sharing this with you and anyone else I am supposed to connect with.

One thought on “the soul can not think without a picture

  1. When searching for a deeper level, I often ask myself: “What if I were to isolate one individual flower from the group; how would it look if it were increased in size to equal a full grown tree? Or if I were to think of this branch of flowers, in terms of music, which melody would it be akin to? Or if I were to paint it in the abstract, how would it look?

Leave a Reply

