looking again

Over and over again I am surprised at what I learn during the editing process.  I see new possibilities and missed opportunities that I’ll hopefully see more clearly next time I’m in the field.  So as much work as going through your images is… and it certainly is a lot of work for me since I don’t usually have large blocks of time to devote to the digital darkroom, organizing, processing and exporting… the self critique is invaluable to my education as a photographer.  I see how I framed the original image and can still see how I might have framed it differently, remembering the light and other elements I intentionally removed from the frame.  I can often still feel the temperature, the wind and sounds at the time I pressed the shutter.  Revisiting and looking again brings back those memories, often focusing my intent, but timing is everything for me.  I need to be away from the images and the experiences just long enough so the experience does not prejudice my ranking of those images in the grander scheme of my work.

Image of pine forest rebirth in Yosemite National Park, November 2010

6 thoughts on “looking again

  1. Rhoda, beautiful image, as always. I’ve had a similar experience today, reviewing essays I wrote a few years ago. I remember the experiences and feelings I was trying to convey, and would write those essays differently now. I also would have edited them differently if I’d done so six months after, instead of 3 years later. Hmmm…

  2. Rhoda, this an image that really draws the viewer into the forest. What you say is so true, that when you post process, sooner or later, that each edit would result in a different perspective. I try to edit as soon as I can, trying to capture what I saw in the moment. Often, I may return to a photo asking myself if I really captured that moment. When in the field, I am so caught up in being in a beautiful place at a spectacular moment when the light is cooperating that I concern myself with the technical and not the emotion. It always pays to become as familiar to an area to know its many moods and lighting but often physically difficult to do. How I would love to return to many places we visited last Fall in Southern Utah. I can see that I missed the boat on many locations.Keep sharing.

    • Thanks for your comments, Judy. I often do a quick edit and process soon after shooting too. But for me the real critique happens later after I can disassociate some of the emotion during shooting.

  3. Amazing how you acheive a wide angle view.
    From my compositional perspective, I see things from a painters point of view. I either mark off my surface or I use a wide angle tablet.
    This landscape remind me of an alien planet, where unfortold creatures and flora grow. I become immersed in your dreamlike world.

Leave a Reply

